New Boundaries

The Boundary Commission has published its new proposals for the make up of Parliamentary Constituencies. it is important to note that the Boundary Commission is a completely independent and impartial body which is responsible for reviewing the Parliamentary constituency boundaries. Parliament has set the rules within which the Commission must work. The rules state that there must be 501 constituencies in England and that ( apart from the special case of the Isle of Wight) every constituency must have an electorate between 71,031 and 78,507.

Currently the Bury North constituency has fewer than 71,031  electors so the Boundary Commission is proposing that the Radcliffe East Ward which is currently in the Bury South constituency be transferred in to Bury North which would in future simply be called the Bury constituency.

Full details of what is being proposed can be found here:


Published by David Nuttall

Business and Political Consultant

%d bloggers like this: